AviLove

By avilover

Broadleaf forest

Feeling much better today as I had hoped. My headache was whisked away by a long overdue good night's rest and I think my blipmates' kind wishes of wellness put me in good favor with the universe. ;)

Just as yesterday, it continued to hover on the precipice of rain all day, so I had less quality time with the birds--just a little visit to the oystercatchers and fur seals on the peninsula this afternoon. I did finally make it up to Mt. Fyffe, the most accessible mountain from Kaikoura, for a little walk through the native broadleaf forest around the base. It was really quiet and lovely, albeit quite wet and chilly, though all the water gave the plants a shiny coat which made them glisten and brought out the richness of their colors. It was actually kind of magical.

Tomorrow I head for Christchurch for a 2-night stay in the city, followed by a few days on a quiet little farm hostel in Akaroa for New Year's. I'll likely be in the area for at least another week, but that's all I've pinned down so far.

I've loved it so much here in Kaikoura. What a terrific 2 weeks. The wildlife, the people, the hostel, the walks around town and the peninsula, the unbelievable scenery...I've been so fortunate for the time I've spent here. I feel at once reluctant to go and buzzing with anticipation for my time in Christchurch.

If anyone's keen to meet up, I'd love to get together and experience Christchurch with those of you who live it every day. I'll put my contact info up on my about page....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.