Alder leaf beetle

I  photographed a beetle some time ago which I suggested was a Blue Mint beetle but I was wrong. (I know, it happens).

I contacted the Royal Horticultural Society and they confirmed my mistake as follows:

"The beetles you found are similar in appearance to the blue mint beetle but are slightly smaller and flatter, and as you suspect they are the alder leaf beetle, Agelastica alni. This species was considered extinct in the UK with no records of it between 1946 and 2003. However, in 2004 larvae and adults were recorded in Manchester and it now appears to be spreading in north-west England. The beetle also become established in southern Hampshire and Wiltshire where it is also becoming widespread. This record from Bournemouth is one of the first from Dorset"


Therefore I offer you another view of the alder leaf beetle and an apology for the previous misidentification.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.