A day in the life

By Shelling

Sad cow

Grey skies today, and some showers of rain in between. I've been at work all day so the weather didn't bother me much, but nothing caught my blip-eye there. 

After I got home to a nice cup of tea and a sandwich one of my glass blobs gave me an image I haven't noticed before. The blob is just a piece of melted glass that failed to become what the artist had in mind so it was left in a scrap heap together with other failures to be melted down again later and be used for something else. I remember saving it from the heap because I thought it would look nice in a window, reflecting the light. 
It has served me well. 

Its colors change slightly depending on the weather and time of day or year outside and depending on the viewers angle it can also let you imagine shapes in the blob. I suddenly thought I saw the "face" of a sad cow in a half profile. It was quite moving, reflecting the grey weather. I tried to catch it with my camera but maybe you see something different, or nothing at all. Or don't understand what I'm going on about. 

That's the thing with non figurative sculpture, it needs a viewers eye to become something, to take a shape. Now you see it, now you don't.
Could it be the same with people?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.