CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

57 Channels (And Nothin' On)

My beaten up old reading chair sits in the spot that used to be occupied by our telly.
We had become disillusioned by the lack of decent programming for some time and were watching it less and less.
Almost 2 years ago we got the lounge decorated and put the TV into a cupboard upstairs and it's been there ever since!
That's not to say we don't partake at all. We do enjoy the occasional bit of TV on iplayer or a decent film on the interweb.
But what we like most of all, is the feeling that the room we relax in is not dominated by something which is constantly challenging our levels of satisfaction by insidiously airing the latest "i-lifestyle.02" or informing us that the gadget we bought last month has now been superseded by an all new improved version which in turn will be destined for landfill in six months.

The unexpected benefit was the noticeably more relaxing environment with more free time to waste in new and interesting ways :-)

Another unexpected side effect is the broad spectrum of reactions to what I had imagined to be a fairly innocuous personal decision. This has ranged from the supportive, "I have often considered doing the same" to demands that I explain myself, with the implication that I think I am better than them.

Anyway, back to reality...It's been a pretty slobby day for scowling lioness and me, we could blame the weather, but some days, you just can't be arsed!
Think I'll watch a movie......


Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.