Touring

I saw this in Ardrishaig early this evening . I do love these old Caledonian MacBrayne tour buses and I think I was on this one when we toured “The Arctic Tern” to Ullapool and Durness more than a decade ago ( but that is pre blip and very much another story).

But it was also a suitable travelling image for a day that started at home, took in Lochgilphead and Kilmory and ended with me chairing an evening meeting of the Kilmartin Glen Museum local landowners Group

I was then going on to Edinburgh but during the day we discovered that there were to be roadworks on the A83 at both Port Ann and Dundreave starting at 7.00 pm and closing the road in both places until 7.00am.

Marie Claire was driving and as a result of those restrictions had no alternative but to take a detour of almost 90 miles via Oban, Crianlarich and Loch Lomond , dropping me off at Arrochar before going over the Rest & Be Thankful and down Loch Eck to Innellan.

I meanwhile carried on to the East arriving after 11.00 and something around 250 miles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.