Unexpected

After some work of the legal and diary management type I decided to tackle some gardening of the slash and burn variety. As the garden wheelie bin was full I dragged a few lopped branches into the woods to let them return to nature.

And I, literally, stumbled on a collection of Edinburgh bricks.

Probably dumped here by the landowner after the public path by the riverbank had been laid many years ago. Plenty of the old Whitehill bricks are now visible down there. Plus, as you’ll know if you’ve been paying attention, there was never an “Edinburgh” brickworks but the Edinburgh Collieries Company had collieries all over the Lothians including Wallyford and Prestongrange, both of which did have brickworks. So, they’re actually East Lothian bricks. Anyhow, they’re in my garden now.

Joe came home from school and trounced me at chess. I tried to distract him with Irn Bru and Maltesers but it didn’t work.

Then Mrs S and Eve rang to bring me up to speed with their adventures in the Orkney Islands. Sounds like they’re having a great time.

Ruby, meanwhile has been based at the V&A in Dundee all day and is helping hang art up there now the paying punters have gone home. Looks very cool, must visit soon.

Tonight it’s pizzas and football for me and Joe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.