Isle of Arran

Today our walking club went to the Isle of Arran in the Firth of Clyde..... my favourite island.  They did an eight mile walk up near Blackwaterfoot.

I of course could not walk with them, but was invited to travel over with them.  On the way I photographed Brodick Castle from the ferry.

There were two of us who were not able to walk the distance, but we walked along the front at Brodick (see my photo of Goatfell taken from there), and stopped for coffee, ending up at the Heritage Museum.  Our coach meanwhile headed up the String Road to start their walk.

From the Heritage Museum we caught the regular coastal bus up to Blackwaterfoot to meet the others, as we were having a meal at the Kinloch Hotel at Blackwaterfoot   The journey up to the north and around to Blackwaterfoot is as nice a journey as you could ever have.  I took a lot of pictures.  One was of the ruined Lochranza Castle, which always makes a nice image. 

The meal was super, the hotel has been refurbished since I was in it, and is looking very smart.  Then we headed in our own coach over the String Road and back to Brodick in time for the last ferry.

A super day out, and I walked 2.5 miles, which is quite enough for Week 4 of my recovery.  And the weather was fab......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.