Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Birds of a Feather

This morning I was happily sat in the kitchen, headphones in, playing on the laptop. A noise kept disturbing me. Eventually I took the headphones out and realised it was birds. Odd I thought, they don't normally make that much noise. On wandering through to peep out of the living room window I found 8 rooks, 3 pheasants and a whole host of little garden birds all competing for the feeders and scattered grain.

My presence startled away most of the birds but I decided to sit quietly with the camera and wait for some to come back. A couple of photos in and I realised the 18-55mm lens is not the lens for bird photography. Thankfully mum hadn't needed to take her camera bag out with her today so I quickly swapped for the bigger zoom lens.

After taking plenty of photos and being sure I'd have one I was happy with, I went across the room to upload them to the laptop. That was the point the woodpecker decided to make an appearance. A bit too far away and hiding behind the nuts! I knew from how flighty he's been previously when we've seen him that I'd scare him off as soon as I moved in for a better shot so I sat and watched for a while before he flitted away.

I was quite pleased with this shot of a Chaffinch just coming in to land on the feeder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.