MikeWest

By MikeWest

Exposure

A frustrating battle with the sun today. First it was a dark cloudy sky after the rain, then the sun came out and was so bright. I walked along the mudflats on the edge of the estuary experimenting with marker posts in the mud, but in the end I preferred this shot of wildflowers. They seem exposed to the all the elements here on the shore and thrive nevertheless. The mud is also exposed by the low tide and the channel winds its way in the distance out to sea.

Again the super wide makes the foreground elements huge in relation to the distant sand banks and headland, really making the wildflowers central in the composition. I kept the sun just out of shot above the frame, but I wish I had more rays coming down. It was very bright in the sky and water, so I was surprised I could process it from one frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.