Helpet57

By Helpet57

Restoration

I had to go into the city centre today so parked my car in Nithsdale Drive in the Strathbungo area so I could catch the bus into town.
In 2014 when I had just started to blip I posted a picture of this old building on the 'at risk register ' which was in a sad state( see extra).
When I walked past today I was pleased to see it has come under restoration with the help of a grant from Glasgow City Heritage Trust.

Nithsdale Hall:
Former Mission Hall for Queen's Park United Presbyterian Church. The building is dated 1887/8 and was designed by architect Alexander Skirving (c.1849-1919) who worked under Alexander Thomson in the 1860s. Sited in the southside immediately to the east of a deep railway cutting this small rectangular plan building is fronted by an impressive ashlar classical facade onto Nithsdale Drive to the north. The building was burnt out in 2006 and has remained derelict ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.