Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Courtship?

Sadly not as my two parrots don't get on very well with each other.
However, at this time of year when the daylight hours are nearly at their peak, both parrots display breeding behaviour.
For Stan that means he has to offer me a selection of regurgitated food at every opportunity while Lucy starts nest building in her cage. She also makes noises I don't hear for the rest of the year and, if I don't provide a cardboard box for her to hide away in, she will pull out loads of feathers.
Three years ago when she first started to exhibit this behaviour , I was really worried that she had a medical problem and ended up spending a fortune at the vet. Now I understand her needs and just sit back and wait for a clutch of beautiful white eggs to be laid, over a 10 day period.
Of course the eggs aren't fertile but it is something that she needs to do.
In the meanwhile, hostilities continue between the pair of them as they try to outbid each other for my affections.
It has been a really wet day again at times but just as I had to take the dogs out, the sun made a brief appearance. A quick constitutional and then I swapped them for my camera to return up the lane to get a photo of the newly fledged wrens. They couldn't have picked a worse day but several of them were doing practise flights from one side of the lane to the other, landing in the thickest leafed trees and bushes. I did manage to get a couple of decent shots (but not good enough for the main blip) which are in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.