Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Private

I began using an app called Day One, a very private diary without comments, likes, online friends etc, a place where I can keep my thoughts and pictures without thinking about if others find them interesting or not - a very liberating thing in our socially hyped global online society. 
My daughter's school invited me to organize a poetry workshop for their students. One of the things I told them before we went on to produce some beautiful texts was that poetry can turn an ordinary moment into something extraordinary. And that's what my private journal is doing for me. I'm discovering that my very ordinary life transpires the extraordinary. It's a bit like a very hot day, when the sweat runs down your face and over your lips and you stick the tip of your tongue out and get a taste of how salty you must be on the inside. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.