Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Allium

My Allium seem to be lagging a little behind other people's, but I'm delighted with them. They didn't flower last year and in fact I've never had any success with allium, but I gave this lot another chance, and here they are!
Today was my first day with no responsibilities, actually I realise that's not true as I took communion to two members of our congregation who are in a nursing home, but in fact I viewed that as a pleasure rather than a responsibility. Back home and then walked to Stockbridge to meet K and C. We had lunch in Bon Papillon then caught a bus to Craigleith on the way home as it started to rain. A delicious salad as ever, spicy chicken with orange, pomegranate and sun dried tomatoes.
Went over to A's this afternoon with her kitchen brochures and had a cup of tea in the garden, they are so thrilled with their house even though it is needing much work.
Back over the hill to EH4 and popped into the rectory, they too are moving into their new house next week so boxes are everywhere.

I've topped up my potato sacks this evening one good thing about the rain has been that they have needed less watering and are growing well.
We came home this afternoon to discover our water was off, when we phoned Scottish water they said it was an unplanned stoppage, it was off for around 3 hours. Annoyingly though, the ballvalve on our loo appears to have got some grit into it, which is most likely down to the water stoppage, and ceased to function thus leaving the loo filling constantly. Less annoyingly we have plumbing and drains cover with the gas board and they will be out tomorrow to fix it. I wonder how many others will have a similar expensive problem as a result, I'm sure we're not alone.
15455 steps today, hooray

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.