We started early today. We left home at 6 am and arrived to Feldballe at 9 am. Gollum was entered a Nose Work trial. 

When I had checked in, I took all 3 boys for a walk and then we were ready for course walking, which is when the judges take all the handlers around the competition venue to show them the search areas.

And then we had almost 2 hours of waiting time, which I used for training Hero and Biscuit and do a couple of test searches with Gollum.

Our first search was the container search. Gollum had to find the odor hidden in a box between empty boxes. He checked all the boxes, but made no clear indication of having found the odor. I had seen something, which could look a bit like an indication in the beginning of the search, so I went back and asked him to check again. Again I saw something... I sort of panicked and said 'Found!' even though I wasn't sure at all. And it was the wrong box. It was a stupid mistake from my side. I had plenty of time left. I should have let him work and waited for him to make up his mind, but competition nerves got the better of me. Oh well. Sorry Mr. Gollum - trust your dog!

Next came the interior search. I took a deep breath and let Gollum do his thing.... which he did. After 17 seconds he indicated that he had found the odor. I said 'Found'. The judge said 'correct'. I was amazed. I don't think we have ever found the hide that fast before!

On to the exterior search. This time it took a little longer. Gollum kept going back and forth between a wall and a chair. Eventually he indicated on the wall. The judge said 'correct'. It took 55 seconds. It later turned out that Gollum was one of just 4 dogs that had found the hide in this search. 20 dogs failed it, so I am very proud of Mr. Gollum. 

Finally the vehicles - Gollum seemed uninterested in the car and the trailer. I started wondering what he was doing and then suddenly out of the blue (it seemed) he indicated that he had found the odor. I said 'found', The judge said 'correct'. And then we were done. 

More waiting time and then the presentation. Gollum had done really well: 
1st in the interior search.
2nd in the vehicle search.
3nd in the exterior search.
And a big 0 in the container search - sorry Mr. Golbert!
4th overall (the 4 searches in total)

Well done little man.

Another 3 hours in the car to get home. And now we are ready for a nap!

We've had thunder and heavy rain for 5 days in a row now. We're fed up with it!

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.