Braes of Balquhidder

Another running Saturday, this time the Run Mhor 84 half marathon (or, as described by me the Run Mhot than half marathon as it was half a mile longer).
Mhor 84 is a hotel on the A84 between Callandar and Lochearnhead and used to be called the Kingshouse, and it was one of the sponsors of the race.
We ran along minor roads to Balquhidder and past the churchyard where the infamous Rob Roy is buried (and were piped past), Then to Strathyre village, along the cycle path and past the hotel and on to above Lochearnhead and a loop and back. The first 5 miles were pretty hilly, then down to the flat tarmac cycle path for a couple of miles (which was the hardesest part several of us found) before going onto a more gravelly path and lots of undulations. Before the turnaround was a set of steep switchbacks (I had to walk 2 short sections) with the piper and photgrapher half way up. Then a flattish rough track and finally a lovely descent and short stretch back along the cycle track.
I was pleased with my time for the nature of the course, esp as I had about a third of the field behind me. Good running weather, only one short shower. not much wind and coolish.
I took the camera with me but only took 2 not-very-good pics and got a bruise on my back from having it in my leggings pocket!
This pic was taken before the start just p the hill a little

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.