Mountains

As I said yesterday, one day the beach, the next day the mountains. Only problem was all I could do was look at them from a plane ..

Up early for a flight to Queenstown to meet a potential client. They would be an important client and Saturday was the only day to meet. No problem, I'll take my bike and do a ride at the same time.

Anyway, things looked hairy form the start. The plane was an hour late leaving and they advised that we "may not make it" and would have to go to Invercargill and then bus for 2 hours. But I could have coped with that.

Instead we got down there and it was perfectly clear, except for one small patch of could over the lake which they would have had to fly through. So we circled around these mountains for 20 minutes, and then headed back to Christchurch. I can understand the need for safety but it was an extraordinary situation. The pilots knew of course it was safe, or I expect they did given how much they apologised and used the "operating procedures" argument.

Qantas didn't then help themselves very much. The people next to me said "they'd never fly Qantas again". The hostess response was literally "who cares, we only have 8 weeks left in NZ ...". They are being replaced by Jetstar. Soon I won't have to remember not to fly Qantas into Queenstown.

Anyway, It did mean I could get back for a ride (buggered now) and spend some time with the kids. And now, a movie and glass of wine is in order, with the fire going. Last day of summer today, and it's cold and wet. Here comes winter ...

BTW, I did the founding member thing tonight. I wasn't planning to, despite my immense appreciation to blip central. But I discovered the exchange rate isn't so bad and it was the 50 000 000 NZD that I was expecting. Only $116, so I did it. I don't agree with the "F" but I'll cope maybe. Thanks guys - awesome site, for the past (nearly) 600 blips, and a few more yet I am sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.