Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Two new switch motors installed

After the trip to see the UP 4014, we had a long trip east.  Came home and finished getting two cranky switch machines changed out from Switchmaster to Tortoise motors.  The new ones route power to the switch frog which helps with pickup for short wheel base locos.  

I used double sided industrial tape to hold the motors until I was sure they were in the right place, then unscrewed the motors and screwed the support blocks to the existing wood.  Sort of having a belt in your pants, then adding suspenders and pinning your shirt to the pants just to make sure.

I won't post any more of these replacements - this one was not fun.  My fault - did not leave enough rom below for a change.  You will note some cutting of the wood support.  Only hit my head twice.  But these work so much better it is worth it.  I will slowly replace the rest of the motors over time - only 49 left if I do them all.

After this I cleaned the track and ran trains. Still modern stuff for awhile but itching to get the steam out again on the N scale.  Also trying to sell my overstock of N scale cars on https://groups.io/g/NScaleYardSale Group site.  Just too many and someone could use them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.