Bessygarth Well

I’d forgotten about this one but today I drove over to my friend’s at Maulds Meaburn and in the van I’m higher up so I spotted it as I drove through Kings Meaburn and remembered having seen it listed as a holy well and had missed it when I went looking for another one nearby ... https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2292386088011960003
It seems more likely that it is a medieval well; there’s little evidence of holiness to be honest although it might have been a guilty penance and atonement as the landowner, Hugh de Morville, took a leading role in the murder of Thomas a Beckett.

I was telling my friend about all the cranberries I’d seen yesterday so when there was a break in the weather this evening I went back onto Barton Fell to take some photos (extra). I spent a couple of hours completely absorbed with my head in a bog....it’s not often you can say that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.