Richard P

By ricky_p

Tyne Bridges

Returned to Newcastle for the 2nd edition of the Newcastle City Orienteering Race

It turned out there were 4 urban / sprint fixtures on the same day.. This meant there was a low turnout for where it is the arguably the best location for an urban.

Last time I did this it was 3 years ago but I was jogging round due to my hip injury. 

It amazing how technical the city centre is due to the bridges / underpasses and steep slope. Even though I was a student there for three years I have no local knowledge as firstly the map was only produced after I left and also I was very boring as an undergrad and never went exploring.

Everyone started on the far side of the swing bridge than ran across on the way to the first control.  I was expecting to just have a loop on the north side then run across one the of bridges further upstream to the finish. I actually had to run across the bridges an extra two times. Good fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.