rower2012

By rower2012

Mercy me!

I felt it was time for a macro again after yesterday's sunrise. Something a little grittier on this special day called Proclamation Day, here in South Australia. Like Paladian said, it's all happening down at the daisy patch. When I saw the very interesting bug that she had got, I thought I'd better get down there myself, before all the bugs had gone home for the day.

I saw a couple of spiders, and got some reasonable shots, but no head-on potential blips - as I had hoped for. However I really liked these two little shield bugs getting it all together. Having a sort of early New Year's celebration. They really stood out for me the way they are framed by the daisy with its simple yellow and white colours. See a little more INTENSITY in large.

On a more somber note for our good blip friend Jenni, owner of Helga the macaw, a further update on the big Xmas bird theft. The pair of South American macaws stolen from a wildlife park in Sydney's west may have been targeted as Xmas presents, stolen to order, or destined for the illegal exotic bird trade.

These beautiful blue and yellow macaws, valued at $6000 each, were part of a haul of 10 birds stolen by a man who broke into the Featherdale Wildlife Park late on Xmas Eve. The man's image (profile in the dark) has been captured on a security camera, but unfortunately this may not be enough to help save these birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.