All Nighter

The key thing about Le Mans is that it is a 24 hr race (the clue is in the name). This year, as we could see the circuit from our campsite, Alf announced he was to stay up through the night and watch the whole thing.

I gave up at about 1 am and went to get some sleep, getting up just after 6 to catch the sunrise and take him some coffee. There he was, all wrapped up in his sleeping bag. He'd been watching all night and gave me a great update on progress. After breakfast we went karting (he thrashed me as per usual) and then back to pack up and watch the end of the race. It all became quite alarmingly thrilling towards the end, battles up and down the field and a very controversial result for the win. All of which will keep us talking until next year.
As we'd changed campsites we were able to get out as soon as the race ended, taking a backroad scenic route half way we were able to catch a much earlier train than usual and were home by 10pm. This is a major development as it means I get to see both Children on Fathers day and don't have to take a day off on Monday. The only real downside is that I don't get to see the old Peugeot 504 that reminds me of my dad.  
So a great, if short Le Mans. 59 hours, 780 miles, an average speed of 64 mph which I thought was alright considering we spent a fair bit of time in roadworks and traffic jams and we were very careful, those french police love an English speeder, and 29.5 mpg.   Some slight revisions ahead for 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.