The Black Gate

We were in Newcastle upon Tyne for the urban orienteering event, which I was going to attempt without walking poles.  My reasoning was that if I could shop in hilly Kendal without  poles I could orienteer in Newcastle. Son R joined us for the day, he spent 3 years here at the University and hopes that a bit of local knowledge will help his race. Finally I was competing again,  against  my own age group  and yes I was last , but only by a few minutes.  Newcastle is one of my favourite cities for orienteering; a wonderful mix of new, old and ancient, multi levels, alleyways, high walkways, underpasses  and hidden grassy areas.  Dating back to the 1200s this is the Black Gate into the castle , nestling next to a railway viaduct from the 1800s that you can just see on the right.  
We then had a good lunch with R who had remembered to bring a chocolate gift for Father 's Day- what a surprise. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.