id:FOR

By FOR

modern PLANETS

Oh well. What I could say.

I really do like Gustav Holst' s PLANETS. So it was easy decision to visit last concert of Sunday Classics Season 2018-2019.

There is no issue with perfect orchestra like RSNO.
There is no doubt about the Ben Palmer' s potential. He is a very good conductor.
There is no complaint about the sound inside the Usher Hall if you know where to seat.

The only thing which really worrying me is that kind of modern interpretation of Planets. I am talking about the visuals and the audience. To be honest I have personal big wish for the future.

"To see&hear PLANETS without that quality NASA movie on the screen"

Honestly I don' t need a visuals for this classical masterpiece. I fully understand the fact that this is the main reason for sold out the whole auditorium and bring the classical music to more people in modern days but it' s not my usual cup of tea in terms of classical concert. Audience is clapping hands after every part of Planets. Why?

Mars, the Bringer of War > short applause
Venus, the Bringer of Peace > short applause
Mercury, the Winged Messenger > short applause
Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity > short applause
Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age > short applause
Uranus, the Magician > short applause
Neptune, the Mystic > short applause

Rather to see some great orchestra to perform this magic seven-movement orchestral suite without any HD movie stuff in some old-fashioned dynamic performance.

But like I wrote in the beginning. There was no doubt about the performers (RSNO, conductor Ben Palmer or Choir at the end of Neptune). They were good. And they deserved huge applause at the end. That' s for sure.

So yeah, it' s only a personal issue/complaint. So don' t be offended at all you who likes classical concert like audiovisual experience. Me? Simply I don' t like this modern concept. It' s too much. Especially for THE PLANETS. One of my most favourite all-time classics.

===========================================

Non-smoking : 55 days
Non-caffeine : 42 days

Monthly alcohol personal records : 5,5 lager/beer/stout pints | 5 units of malt whisky

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.