An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Sweet Sixteen...

Archive Blipped 18.06.19


Back on this day in 1983 (when summers were warm and lasted from June to September ;-)) I was bridesmaid at my cousin's wedding.

What a day!  


The bride's horse waiting at the church door to present her with a lucky horseshoe after the ceremony.  The hot sunshine beating down as we smiled, smiled and smiled some more for the photos.  Sitting at the top table feeling very sophisticated as I drank my Babycham.  Watching a very old friend of the family, who fancied himself as a bit of a Lothario, dabbing the sweat from his bald head with a large cotton hanky as he sashayed his way round the dance floor (just thinking he was probably the age I am now!)  Dancing the first dance (any many more) with the bride's VERY handsome nephew from down south, who was not only the same age as me, but had an identical twin brother!  Ah yes, Agnes and I have very fond memories of my cousin's wedding :-))  Sadly, the happy couple divorced a few years later.

But for that warm summer's evening there was magic and music in the air :-))


Little did I know that six short years later, I would be getting married in the same church and having my wedding photos taken in the same walled garden where this shot was taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.