It's a Beautiful Life

By ArtyFi

Winter berries

Already tired of Christmas dinner left overs I felt the need to get out of the house for some fresh air and some fresh fish for dinner this evening. Hubby had to exchange a faulty Christmas present for his father so dropped me off at the supermarket. I thought I would get one or two items and get some exercise walking home....I took the camera thinking I would find a blip on the way home. I didn't! I also bought too much and ended up feeling like a pack horse! Not quite the gentle exercise I envisaged; more like huffing and puffing my way back up the hill carrying heavy bags. How I wished I had taken my bike!

Still, I found my blip in the front garden: some colour amidst the grey of another rainy and windy day. I think this is a cotoneaster. We have a lot of horizontal cotoneaster in the garden but I think I'm right in saying that this is the upright shrub variety. We also have a large tree cotoneaster. The birds love all these berries, but will always go for the ones on the horizontal shrubs first!

This afternoon my heart got another unexpected workout when we settled down to watch Notorious, a 1946 Hitchcock film with Cary Grant and Ingrid Bergman. It certainly got the heart racing by the end but it was a superb film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.