... velut luna

One of only two pictures I took today. Shortly after this, walking with my backpack to the bus stop to get to tonight's accommodation two miles out of town (the centre was unaffordable on the eve of Corpus Christi) I put a foot wrong on the uneven road and sprained my ankle.

Someone got me one of the chairs lining the streets (see yesterday), someone else got me a bag of ice, and I gathered my wits. A little more painful hobbling and a bus ride later, my new hosts were unbelievably kind, way beyond the airbnb remit. Flora got me more ice, made me coffee then made me lunch. Her elderly mum lent me an anti-inflammatory cream, lent me her walking stick to get from bed to bathroom and improved the strapping up I'd done with the bandage I have in my first aid kit. Flora went out to buy me some fruit and when I over-ambitiously said I thought I might be able to get the bus back into town, she offered to come with me to give me an arm. 

Sanity prevailed and I stayed in all day to let my ankle recover before tomorrow's journey. Others watched the practice for tomorrow's Parade of Giants through streets strewn with lavender, rosemary and thyme which two days ago I knew nothing about. This evening I won't see the dress rehearsal for tomorrow's parade and I will miss the fireworks.

But I have broken nothing and I have experienced a kindness and empathy that transcends culture and language, the best of all experiences.


(And wasn't yesterday's title prescient!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.