Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Puffintastic :)

I've been wanting to tick Skomer Island off 'my list' for a long while...and our week in Pembrokeshire was a reason for this.  You can't pre book tickets, and they only allow a certain number of folk on the island every day on a first come first served basis.  The ticket office opens at 8am but people queue from 6am to ensure they get tickets.  So with a smily weather forecast, Mr Lupes was up with the lark to queue for tickets whilst I prepped bacon butties for brekkie and a picnic for lunch. 
Oh my days...what a place.  A perfect 19 degrees, blue skies, a gentle warm sea breeze and azure seas.  The island with its flowers is stunning on its own...but chuck in all those puffins.... oh my days! 
5 hours later, back to base to pick up Chino for a lovely evening walk at Little Haven and tea and refreshments in the sunshine at the Castle pub....happy days :)))) 
Extras, some cow parsley which reminded me of Yorkshire...and puffins on the water..... one in flight still eludes me! 
PS on walking past a group of school children, a teacher was telling them that the collective noun for puffins is a 'Circus' :))) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.