Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Another First

During the last couple of weeks I have seen photos posted on facebook of newly emerged small pearl-bordered fritillaries. I thought I would attempt to get one of my own. I duly visited a site where two years ago I had blipped one (or so I thought).

I was lucky enough to spot a likely culprit and chased it down to a red clover flower where I stealthily got closer and closer to capture this macro.

I posted it earlier this evening to a butterfly group on Facebook. Imagine my surprise when I was told it was the first sighting (for 2019) in East Scotland of a DARK GREEN FRITILLARY! (Argynnis aglaja).

I checked out the differences and then looked back at my old 2017 blip to find that that one too was a dark green fritillary. It turns out that I have still to find and photograph a small pearl-bordered fritillary.

This was found between West Wemyss and East Wemyss in Fife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.