Black hairstreak

Massive tick today when I had the privilege of photographing the Black Hairstreak butterfly Satyrium pruni. 
The Black Hairstreak is a rare butterfly, and one I have wanted to photograph for a while now, luckily a new colony was discovered a couple of years ago fairly close to where I live on Ditchling common so today I decided to take a look. On arrival there were several individuals flying around but they remained high up the stand of Blackthorn bushes they call home. Some 2 and a half hours later this beautiful male decided to come down from the blackthorn onto the bracken and I was able to get a few shots. 
On my way back to the car I walked round the pond and tp my surprise saw a terrapin sitting on a log quite close to the bank - I am not sure who was most surprised me or the terrapin! Luckily I got I shot, which I added in extras before he shot off - no doubt a released unwanted pet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.