misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Washed Out

We have had days of big rains and constant Flash Flood Warnings.
Night before last the rains were very heavy and lasted long.
This afternoon I drove out into the countryside to visit my friends.
This bridge greeted me! It also washed out in 2011 but this time it is worse-- right down to the poured concrete base.
There will be no going over that bridge for a long time!
I had to find another way to their house. Haven't been on those roads in years. Everything is so grown, especially big evergreen trees. But it was a beautiful sunny afternoon and lovely drive. I did not get lost which I often do out where one country road looks like another to me.
Even in the Village the river is very high.
Now we are promised two sunny, "drying out" days before the next full week of rain. This should come as no surprise since winter follows the same pattern but the precipitation is SNOW!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.