Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

DINNER PREPARATION AND NINJAS

I like this time of year, when dinner prep starts with a stroll around the veg plot for inspiration. Tonight: sautéed Desiree potato and rainbow chard curry, with fresh ginger, almonds and turmeric, refreshed with juice from a lemon fresh picked at Cortijo Romero. 

Pretentious or what? The good news is the Prof is without pretension and will eat anything I cook for him. 

 I was ravenous after a day in the sea air, clambering over Cumbrae rocks with the special grandson.  I showed him how to tie his hoodie round his waist to carry it.  He noticed I'd done the same. 'We're a pair of Ninjas!' he said.  I asked what special powers Ninjas have. 'Rock climbing powers', he replied, then added sadly, looking at the Prof sitting sedately on a bench minding the picnic, 'I don't think Grandad has any Ninja powers.'  Ah, but he has, he's just conserving them carefully. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.