Carol's ramblings

By Lucari

National Quilt Show

Trip to Sandown Race course today to look around the National Quilt Show. Bumped into a few friends whilst there :)

The exhibition has some absolutely wonderful quilts, but this one stood out for me. It has been made by a member of Yateley WI (that I used to be a member of), a lovely surprise to see her name. The statement that went with it says:
“The blocks came from Ely Sienkiewicz’s book. It is all hand sewn and quilted except for the stashing and joining of the blocks, which is machine sewn. My husband knew I was making it, but sadly died before it was finished in 2019.”

May be one day I may produce something of this dedication .... better get on with some of my UFO’s :)

Proud of myself that I didn’t buy any fabric today, just a ruler and some thread. I did go back to a stall twice and watch a demonstration of rulers for domestic machines to help with shapes quilting, but changed my mind .... :)

Lovely day - very warm, so thankful for my air conditioning in the car :)

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.