Journal of Jackie

By Jackie18

Louise Smalley Walk day

We were up and out of the house by 2:00am, caught the coach to Monsal Head, and started walking at 4:20am , got back to Whitwell at 8:00pm (41.3 miles!) It was a hot day which was very energy sapping, the terrain was quite difficult, but with help from the support teams and other walkers ( especially Joe and my brother Ian) I made it!! The last 4.5 miles were particularly difficult and seemed like an eternity! There were 100 walkers all being sponsored. This year the charity was a charity that I nominated,The Sick Children's Trust, who provide accommodation at various hospitals so that families can be close to their seriously ill children. We used them when Rafi was ill, so I wanted to pay them back in some small way. I have raised so far over £1000, so combined with the rest of the walkers this should be a good total!
This photo shows my brother Ian taking a picture of the sunrise, I have no idea who the other bloke is, but he looks a bit sinister!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.