National Memorial Arboretum

I took this photograph on my last visit to the National Arboretum. The Arboretum is a fantastic place, quiet and peaceful, a place to reflect and remember.
There are a lot of memorials and places of commemoration on the site but this is one of my favourites as well as one of the most poignant.
The Shot at Dawn is a tribute to the young men of Britain and the Commonwealth, many of them only boys The memorial consists of a statue of a blindfolded young soldier tied to a stake and is modelled on the likeness of 17-year-old Private Herbert Burden, who had lied about his age to join the military.
The figure stands with 306 wooden posts bearing the names of the serviceman who were executed.
I am looking forward to the returning to the Arboretum in mid August for the Op Banner 50 commemoration event when I should get the opportunity for another look around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.