K9tam

By K9tam

Times's unstoppable advance.

I was so busy sorting out the garden I completely forgot about blip! So decided to snap where I was working.

Our garden, is quite big (For today's standards). It's an unusual triangle shape too. I've split it into different sections. The front is the largest area where I've created an 'English' country garden, lots of colour and flowers. We have a drive area where the caravan was parked - next project. A courtyard area where we BBQ and eat. And the back, where I have been working this week,  a (loosely) Japanese themed area. So my gardening this week has been cleaning up shingle and stones and mainly sorting out where our neighbours plants and roots have encroached into ours! I seem to spend as much time on their overgrowth as I do in my own garden.

I love the Japanese approach to gardens, they are fairly minimalistic and all about structure, texture and form. Very relaxing. Their gardens show 'The fragility of existence as well as time's unstoppable advance'. Moss is a good thing in their gardens! It shows 'age' and respect for it.

The area in the section I've photographed is waiting for my attention. I picked up a stone to start, but there were so many insects  and baby insects underneath I felt bad disturbing them so will leave it for perhaps the Autumn time!

I love this little area, on the left is a stone water feature that my late Mum said looks like a Dogs headstone! The ornamental Heron we bought back from Goa a few years ago, how I managed to get it in my suitcase I'll never know. The little Japanese lantern I got in some DIY store and the perfect moss covered planter has been there for several years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.