Counting clouds

Visiting dad.

Today tired and in bed. I'm not sure if he recognized me. Maybe. I lifted up the bed and gave him few peas to eat, a taste of summer. I didn't find strawberries for him from the shop, but maybe next time. On the other hand, swallowing is difficult for him, maybe the best not to play with peas too much...

I chatted a while, told him stories and memories about the old summer evenings from his cottage. How at warm evenings we sat on sauna terrace waiting late midnight sunset and watching the nature colors change over the lake bay. Only wind and some birds' voices, mainly only Eurasian Curlews. It had been also his parents' hobby. Just relax and watch silent beauty of summer nature.

Dad fell asleep.

The blind had been down after the sunny day, but I lifted it up, so that if he'd woke up, he could count the clouds while listening to the tones of the radio on the table...

I hate Alzheimer's disease.

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.