Life Belt

My legs were tired and so was I after yesterday’s exertions, but I dragged myself out for my last holiday run – running the same route but in the opposite direction.  I didn’t enjoy it – I’m such a creature of habit! It was a grey morning, but not cold and only a very slight breeze, so I shouldn’t complain.  I recovered over breakfast.

We then headed to Wallington.  By the time we got there, the car park was packed .  We did have a lovely walk through the woods, the walled garden down tot eh stepping stones and then along by the river, up to the bird hide and back to the house and the tea room.  BB was hungry so we had lunch – but I have to say that that tea room never fails to disappoint TT and I.  The scones were nice, but overall my lunch was very disappointing.

We then had a big discussion about what to do next and settled on Warkworth Beach, as recommended by the lovely bookshop lady yesterday.  It had previously been recommended by another friend and we had never been.  It was a good choice, a big empty beach.  The sun was out and we had a lovely bracing walk.  It was then home for tea and the last night of our holiday.

This life belt was stuck in the sand dunes at Warkworth beach.  The big empty beach is in the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.