Lycra Warriors

Now that she is off for the summer, Dana is going to class, and more importantly to coffee afterward, with me. OilMan can't be persuaded to join us in class, but he does come to the Trail House. I think cyclists must be the most single minded gear heads on the planet. They seem to have only two topics of conversation  a) their bikes/tires/shoes/gloves/derailleurs/seat posts, etc and b) their route. There was quite a group of these fellows who seem to have come in to discuss their route, as there was no evidence of their having been on their bikes. One of them was having a beer with his coffee at. 9:15....

Now that I have KonMari-ed my shirts and jeans and Hikidashi-ed my bras and knickers it has come to my attention that somewhere along the line,  a full prescription bottle which I picked up from the pharmacy on Friday has gone missing. This occasioned a thorough search of a) the car b) my pockets c) wastebaskets d) the recycle bin e) the hidden depths of the medicine cabinet and finally as a last desperate resort f) the garbage. No joy there so I am falling back on my usual method of finding lost items...wait awhile and see if it shows up. I think there might be a flip side to  excessive tidying....

I have become more organized since we moved, probably because we now live in a single story, open plan house.one in which there can be very few secrets except perhaps in the close. I also no longer have small children, teenagers needing the services of a driver, or a job to distract me from where I put things. The problem is, 'a place for everything and everything in it's place' works beautifully except for when it doesn't. if an item isn't in it's designated spot, I have NO IDEA what was going through my mind at the time of its disappearance or where to begin looking for it.

Aside from the fact that that she is adorable and thanks old junk for its service before she tosses it, there is nothing terribly magic about Marie Kondo or her method, other than the amount of money she must have made. She has no advice whatsoever for finding lost items. I couldn't resist Googling her to learn a bit more about her credentials and was quite disappointed to learn that she lives in...Los Angeles! Not only that, but she is being called out by a Beverly Hills organizing guru who claims that SHE invented  'upright folding' years ago. I think she's probably just jealous that she didn't think of how to make millions out of teaching people how to fold their underwear....

You couldn't make it up....now if only someone could invent a way to find lost prescription bottles....THAT would be magic....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.