A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

1.30 from Kings Cross

Or Murder, He Said. A Miss Marple murder mystery perhaps?!

Well, not that I noticed from the carriage I was on anyway.

My day was spent on the train from Uckfield to Newcastle. It was not the most pleasant of journeys. The Northern Line was up the spout so I had to join the other thousand million people in London town & cram like sardeens on the Jubilee Line en route to Kings Cross. This inevitably slowed things down & despite my best efforts, running up escaltors & the like, I arrived minutes too late at the station & missed my train.

Not particularly panicked, but panting, weezing & boiling over in my cleverlychosen Christmas knitwear, I went to the train men at the desk & they got me onto the next Newcy-bound train. Saved.

And so my Crocker-Christmas/ Christmas the Third, began in style, with a welcome trip to the pub in Allendale square. It was lovely to see Jenny's family, who'd all been up for Xmas, & spend some time in the open-fire warmth & chit-chat buzz of the local. On our return, there was presents to be opened (i have been good this year.. news to me!) It was such a surpise & I was given some really nice, thoughtful things from Jenny & her family. Monkey played his part too, & not only did he have his own prezzie under the tree (some new outifts), but he also features in every month of my 2013 'Monkey' Calender, which Jen had had especially made! It's fantastic!

Looking forward to a fun, relaxing weekend & New Year Celebration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.