I am completely...

...knackered...

I had an appointment at the eye hospital today. Lots of travelling. Took all day. Clinic was very behind. The morning clinic had over run badly. I was afternoon clinic. But they promised they would see everyone no matter how badly it over ran into the evening...

It was far too hot in the eye hospital. Airless. Nurses and staff were trying to find fans, but they couldn’t. Some people got upset because of the waiting and heat. They didn’t
make a fuss or anything, but some looked like they were going to peg out in the heat. And partners or friends were getting water and stuff....

I had to take extra inhalers because my breathing was hard to do in that airlessness. A guy in a wheelchair next to me kept saying he had been on dialysis since 5 this morning (I think he said), and he didn’t feel very well in this. He was on his own. I got a nurse to look at him. She was going to try and get him through it quicker, but there were so many really sick looking people there today. It was upsetting to me to see so many really sick people there in the eye clinic. It has never been like this before.

There were people in wheelchairs with leg amputations, foot amputations, toe amputations. This is a diabetic eye clinic as well. So I am assuming they were diabetics.

Anyway, the doctor came out to get me. Checked my eyes over. Did tests etc. My eyes are good. He is pleased with them. The laser procedure has worked well. Pressure in the eyes is normal. The surface of my eyes are dry and are rough and damaged a bit, despite me using plenty of eyedrops etc. So, he has given me a different eyedrop which is like putting Vaseline into my eyes. Not pleasant but has to be done.

So the laser procedure went well, and I see them again in a year’ time.

When I came out of the hospital there were quite a few patients in wheelchairs outside smoking. They are not allowed to smoke but they do. So I have to go through a fug of smoke which hurts my chest as I leave the hospital. They were all amputees. Either a foot, or below the knee, or above the knee. Were they all diabetics? I have never ever seen this many amputees at any one moment of time.

I was exhausted when I got home. I just made a ginger and lemon tea and got into bed with a caterwauling cat because I had left him all day on his own...

So here are pics of a purring cat very glad to see me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.