Female Bearded Woodpecker

Female Bearded Woodpecker

Day 12 South African Diaries

After a 2 hour lecture on poaching we had a morning of macro photography. A distinctive, familiar hammering was not far away but locating this tiny woodpecker was not easy, a grey bird on grey tree trunk. I must try to find a male which has a red head. They are much smaller than our European woodpeckers.

The afternoon has been a bit mad with screen overload but I must be improving, I only asked 3 questions! We then had to take funny portrait photos (with props) of the other group members at a sundowner, edit them, dinner followed by a lecture on the local community! The days are packed! We start tomorrow with a game drive, leaving here at 6am!

Thanks so much for visiting my journal even though I can’t visit yours. You do not want to know what time I managed to upload yesterday’s!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.