TheMapSmith

By TheMapSmith

Three hares

Another emergency blip! Not, for once, because of the weather, but because I've been too busy to find something to blip. Today has been a day of domestic busyness, first the supermarket shop (22 mile round trip), then the rest of the day intensively sorting stuff out. First books, then CDs, then my wardrobe, and finally J's clothes and shoes. By this time it was 6pm and we were tired and hungry, so we tidied up (many bags to the garage for onward transmission to charity shop, a few bits to the wheelie bin, several boxes of books in the kitchen which will go to the second hand book shop at Oxborough Hall tomorrow). My chest of drawers and my shoes will get done tomorrow also. Kitchen, garage and linen cupboard still to do...

I'm a little incredulous that we are still finding so much to chuck - I seem to have been doing this for the last 5 years, since my first significant downsize - and we had a big cull before moving here last year. But we are determined to slim down our belongings in line with our new lifestyle.

We don't have much clutter as such. We have stuff associated with our many interests, and we both love books. J has unbelievably few clothes (I know women who have 7 wardrobes full, never mind three-quarters of a single wardrobe!). I have more, but still few compared to most women I know - it's been good to get rind of many items associated with the 9-5 office job which I don't intend to wear again. We do still have quite a few duplicate items, from when we combined households, especially in the kitchen. The plan is to use the MariKondo approach and get EVERYTHING out in a big heap and only put back what you really need! So far so good, and we are feeling very pleased with our efforts.

Oh yes, the three hares - these turn up all over the place, including in a lot of Devon churches. There's a lot of symbolism attached to the motif and I find it fascinating - which a colleague of mine knew when she chose this wall plaque as a leaving present for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.