The second half of life..

By twigs

Puff the Dragon

A busy - and interesting - day at work.  Well, not a full day.......I finished at lunchtime which was nice :)  

Headed out to do a few domestic catch-ups including a stop at the local pet store to restock LB's food.  As I walk down to the cat meat aisle I have to pass a number of enclosures where some animals are housed in the hope of being adopted by their forever family.  Today there were a bunch of bunnies.....gorgeous wee fluffy things, but none of them were interested in being stroked. On then to the kitten enclosure - empty.

At the checkout I mentioned to the assistant that I hadn't seen any kittens for a while and was heartened to hear that that was in fact a *good* thing........no kittens simply mean that there were none needing homes.  That made sense.  Then the assistant surprised me.........

"We don't have any kittens but I brought Puff in today if you'd like to meet him.  He's over there with Sarah."  

She called to Sarah who turned around then walked towards us with this fella half clinging, half perched on her shoulder!  I swear he knew I was apprehensive - his eyes looked at me sideways like he was about to pounce and gobble me up for tea.  I was assured he was very friendly and wouldn't bite me as he didn't have any teeth. He also rather liked being stroked.  I stepped beyond my comfort zone, held my breath and  stroked him.......not quite the same as stroking LB but not the life threatening experience I had feared it could be!  Yes - I'm a wuss!

Anyway, the assistant told me his name was Puff (after this I assume....) , he is a Bearded Dragon from Australia, he lives at home with her and, after saying I'd love to take some pictures of him, I now have her contact details and a great subject to be lined up.

In the meantime, here's some info about Puff and his cousins that I found quite interesting........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.