The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Ice Fishing

This is a very old fishing sinker, once used by a Seneca Indian in New York State, U.S.A.. My siblings and I found many of these on days spent at our Lake House in Lodi, New York on Seneca Lake. Indians used these with a line and hook to keep the line down in the water. Larger stones were used as net or trap anchors in the turbulent lake waters.

For some reason, I tied a red cord on this one and wore it as a good luck charm. My sister Margaret had a lucky rabbit's foot, which gave me the creeps. Why would anyone carry a poor little bunny's foot around? A perforated stone seemed more appropriate for me.

This is the second time this week that I have experienced a snow storm, so I chose to photograph the sinker out in the snow. I love its triangular shape and how the hole is angular rather than straight through. It looks and feels more like a piece of art that a practical fishing tool.

We take so much for granted today. It is very cold outside , and I didn't last very long in the snow. I imagine that the Indians who used these concentrated on hunting deer, bears, and other wild game during the winter, but certainly did a bit of ice fishing now and then.

What fascinating lives these men and women led as they lived off the land and lake. They left their once precious belongings behind for The Love Child to find and cherish.

A special form of recycling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.