stujphoto

By stujphoto

Another use of the beach

I may be accused of being repetitive by showing yet another way in which a human being can risk life and limb hanging onto a kite in order to travel along a beach . However, at least those who kite sand buggy are maybe not quite as intrepid as kite surfers as they do not risk being dragged in the cold dark ocean (actually from what I have seen this is more like a certainty ). Nevertheless travelling at speeds up to 47 mph some 2-3 inches off the sand in a extremely vulnerable position ie. nearly prone does carry its own dangers which I will leave you all to imagine for yourselves.

My only excuse in being so repetitive is that kite sand buggying is extremely rare in the UK as it requires at leats three key conditions :- most important is FLAT, FIRM SAND preferably with a receding tide; adequate but not gale force wind and reasonable weather conditions ie. not snow, hale or rain as this does tend to bog you down and obscure the vision. These conditions are rarely met in Scotland and I have only seen this activity on Belhaven Beach once or twice a year despite being, through dog-walking, a regular visitor to this beach and being able to see the beach from my house. And if AlanK proves me wrong by showing a more briliant picture tomorrow I will eat my hat !! Suffice to say that at least I have spared you the same presentation of the scene (monochrome with popped colour) though that may have been been more interesting....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.