Again and Again

By Ripitup

Mooted

I have wanted to include a record of the town tree since I began my "One Street" journey as I never recall, from one year to the next, what was there last year.

I had a small window of opportunity, between the continuing rain, to stop off earlier this evening for a few pictures. The tables to the left of the pillars are the ones just visible through the alley where I blipped from yesterday.

The Moot Hall, according to information on the website of 'the friends of moot hall', was a private residence (in the 15th century) before it was sold to 'the Corporation' for the sum of £55 and began life as a 'state of the art' Local Authority Building.

Today it is the town hall and it was licensed for use as a venue for civil ceremonies.

It was also where the Queen ate her lunch during her visit to the town on 28 October 2010 (I am sure I have pictures of some of the table arrangements somewhere)

I don't like the light trails in this picture particularly but I did like that all 3 traffic lights were lit, that there was a huddle of men outside of 'the oakhouse' bar and that I can just make out the war memorial. Overall it beat my earlier daylight pictures, from another village in the District, to a blipspot.

For anyone who has not read about the One Street Project, suggested by Kendall, I'd highly recommend that you give it a try. I did and am enjoying every moment. Our planet is an amazing place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.