The Early Bird

I set off straight after breakfast for the footpath we explored the other day, hoping there might be a few butterflies and that I might catch them before the sun warmed them into constant action.  The reward for an early start was better than I had hoped for.  Eight species including White Admirals which I had not seen before and I had chalked up six within 200 yards of starting my walk!

As illustrated:
Painted Lady, Ringlet, Speckled Wood, Red Admiral
Skipper, Meadow Brown, White Admiral, Comma

Large or Small Skipper - any help appreciated.  I have not had time to look them up.  In truth I may have seen both.

The orchids - extra pic - were still looking good but by the time i got that far it was far too hot in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.