Rodents rule

By squirk

Scorchio

Juno and I hung out in the garden for most of the day and, like the plants, wilted. It was cooler in the flat, so I took cover now and then. Around 4pm, I walked to one of the local garden centres and bought Knautia macedonia and Honorine Jobert, and found a couple of spots for them. I also sorted a couple of the climbers that are sending out tendrils all over the place. I'm really pleased the roses are doing well. The red one is one I relocated from the front garden a few years ago and the yellow one is Graham Thomas. At one point a big bumblebee buzzed with enthusiasm all over Graham's flowerheads, really getting stuck in. I bought that variety particularly for bees so I'm happy that it's attracted at least one. There were a few honeybees feasting on the clover on the 'lawn' early evening. 

Juno hid in a shaded tunnel. A fox climbed up the inside of the shed and down to the compost bin. The shed is slowly disintegrating but I'm glad it's serving as a climbing frame for foxes because it's no good for anything else at the moment.

I had a long chat with the pet shop owner. He's still living in a hotel room after his home was flooded in Kent during the torrential downpours a few weeks ago. Poor guy. He has a dog so it's tricky to find a place in which to place the family and the pet, and he needs to rent a place to live for at least six months (though it's likely to be nine months before he can go home with all the work that's needed).I have all my paws crossed that his situation gets better soon.

I'm now watching Glastonbury live and thinking about the times when I went more than 20 years ago. Fun times.

You can see my camera reflected in Juno's left eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.