Whale Watching

Date Night adventures were inspired this week by an announcement made several times on the radio that hundreds of whales were currently migrating up the coast and this was the time to spot them! We've both wanted to go whale watching...on purpose that is. We've seen whales a time or two when not expecting to, but here we were, watching on purpose.

In true contraptioneer fashion, my Paul fixed a camera and a pair of binoculars on a tripod so that he could experiment a bit. The atmosphere of waves crashing in the light of dusk, against massive rocks....very cool!
It felt like a whole new adventure on the coast to be out at this time of year. It often feels too cold or stormy and it is just too easy to stay inside.

As I stood watching and hearing the power of the waves against the rocks, I thought about how awesome it is that the ocean stays in it's boundaries, and how tragic it is when it comes out of them. I kept thinking of a passage in Proverbs 8, from the Christian Bible. The passage is written from the perspective of Wisdom. "The Lord possessed me at the beginning of His way, before His works of old. I have been established from everlasting, from beginning before there was ever an earth. When there were no depths I was brought forth, when there were no fountains abounding with water. Before the mountains were settled, before the hills, I was brought forth; while as yet He had not made the earth or the fields, or the primeval dust of the world. When He prepared the heavens, I was there, when He drew a circle on the face of the deep, when He established the clouds above, when He strengthened the fountains of the deep, when He assigned to the sea its limit, so that the waters would not transgress His command, when He marked out the foundations of the earth, then I was beside Him, as a master craftsman; and I was daily His delight, rejoicing always before Him, rejoicing in His inhabited world, and my delight was with the sons of men."

A tour of the gardens at Shore Acres, once again, only this time during the blue hour...oh my! Here are the complete images of waves crashing and beautiful scenes at the garden!

Mr. Contraptioneer describes his telephoto experiment in his blip "Crossing the Reef".

We breathed the fresh air, laughed quite a bit, opened a bottle of sparkling cider with the help of a stranger's bottle opener and a toast between the three of us before he left...more laughter...and a finale of clam chowder, fresh bread, salad and gingerbread with lemon glaze at the High Tide Cafe. Oh no, wait! There was a grand finale! It was a cozy evening at home with me in one chair writing Christmas cards...a wee bit late...and Paul in another, darning socks just like his grand mother used to do. Well, maybe not exactly like her! I should have had my camera out, but you'll have to use your imagination for that one :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.