Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Zigzag

Spent Saturday morning preparing for a church service I'm due to lead next Sunday (7th July) and needed a bit of a break to let my head clear and put my thoughts in order. I hadn't visited the Japanese Garden at Cowden near Dollar before, although it had been on my wish-list for some time, so headed off there in the early afternoon.

The earlier brightness had become overcast with a few spots of rain, but I thought the Garden was a very pleasant place to wander around - the picture above is of the 'Zigzag Bridge' - and offered quite a few photographic opportunities.

Just as I was nearing the end of my wander around the pond there were two or three cracks of thunder and so I made a beeline for the tearoom before the rain started in earnest. By the time it came for me to leave, the thunderstorm was in full flow and my drive home was accompanied by lightning flashes and torrential rain. Not a pleasant journey at all.

Any earlier feelings of 'zen' were now history. I feel a return visit to the Garden will be made sooner rather than later. Maybe on a dry day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.